Randall Beaty

Randall joined the Texas Department of Public Safety Crime Laboratory Service in 1986 as a Criminalist, and was assigned to the Department’s Breath Alcohol Testing Program where he spent eight years working as a Technical Supervisor in southeast Texas.  In this capacity, he was responsible for instrument maintenance, repair, and calibration, as well as training and support to law enforcement officers and prosecutors.  In 1994 he joined the management staff of the Department’s Scientific Director. His primary responsibilities include formulating, designing, and implementing policy for the state breath alcohol testing program, and providing direct supervisory and managerial support for laboratory personnel.

He has testified as an expert witness in hundreds of criminal trials involving the prosecution of intoxicated drivers, as well as civil litigation depositions and legislative committee hearings. He routinely consults with industry regarding forensic alcohol testing and workplace safety, including as an official member of the United States Working Group representing the U.S. Department of Commerce at the Organization for International Legal Metrology (OIML) session in Paris, France in May 2005. He has received gubernatorial appointments by Governors Robert McDonnell, Terry McAuliffe, and Shearer Northam to the Commonwealth of Virginia’s Forensic Science Advisory Committee to provide support to the Virginia Department of Forensic Science. Similarly, he has acted in a technical advisory capacity to the American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors – Laboratory Accreditation Board. The Academy Standards Board of American Academy of Forensic Science

He is the 2019 Laureate of the National Safety Council Alcohol Drugs and Impairment Division Robert F. Borkenstein Award recognizing outstanding contributions through a lifetime of service consistent with the ideals and achievements of Dr. Robert F. Borkenstein in the area of alcohol/drugs in relation to traffic and transportation safety and the 2008 Laureate of the Kurt M. Dubowski Award sponsored by the International Association for Chemical Testing recognizing career long contributions to chemical testing related to transportation and workplace safety. He was the recipient of the Houston Police Department: Chief of Police Unit Citation for contributions to impaired driving task force 2012. A graduate of Texas State University with a Baccalaureate of Science in chemistry and physics, he is active in several professional organizations. He is a Past Chair of the National Safety Council’s Alcohol Drugs, and Impairment Division, he was elected to two separate terms as President of the International Association for Chemical Testing where he continues his service as a member of the organization’s Board of Directors, and he is a Past Chair of the DPS Quarter Century Club.